84 Chic and Practical Travel Finds

Whether your end-of-summer plans include a family reunion at the beach, an exotic yoga retreat, a city sightseeing visit or an outdoor adventure, you won’t want to leave home without these 32 wardrobe updates, 18 accessories, 17 travel bags, 10 pairs of shoes and seven gadgets. Can you say “bon voyage”?

Images loading...

Jonathan Adler ribbon and straw fedora, $98; jonathanadler.com.

Gisel Florez

Joseph silk crepe pants, $425; joseph.co.uk.

Gisel Florez

Stella McCartney for Adidas Nymphicus water-sport boots, $120; 800-982-9337.

Gisel Florez

Theodora & Callum gold-dipped pewter necklace, $550; theodoraandcallum.com. Tracy Reese silk dress, $348; 212-807-0505.

Gisel Florez

This handy iPhone holder clips to your bike’s handlebars so you can pedal while you listen. UncommonGoods iPhone bicycle mount, $40; uncommongoods.com.

Gisel Florez

Satisfy your oral fixation while away from home with a battery-operated travel toothbrush. Violife portable sonic toothbrush, $15 each; violife.com

Gisel Florez

Old-school-style noise-canceling headphones. Beats By Dre wireless headphones, $280; beatsbydre.com.

Gisel Florez

Kate Spade Saturday umbrella, $35; saturday.com.

Gisel Florez

Mango cotton foulard with tassel, $30; mango.com. J.Jill linen tunic, $79; jjill.com.

Gisel Florez

Toiletries stay organized in this compartmentalized case; when unrolled, it hangs for easy access. Kate Spade Saturday canvas cosmetics case, $65; saturday.com.

Gisel Florez

A water bottle with a solar-powered light does double duty as a lamp. UncommonGoods solar-powered bottle, $36; uncommongoods.com.

Gisel Florez

Eileen Fisher black leather sandals, $225; eileenfisher.com.

Gisel Florez

A camera with built-in Wi-Fi and GPS lets you document, download and get directions. Nikon Coolpix AW110, $350; nikonusa.com.

Gisel Florez

Painted Bird hand-crocheted shoes in Mermaid, $82; shoppaintedbird.com

Gisel Florez

Bensimon twill cotton cross-body bag, $95; nordstrom.com

Gisel Florez

Anne Klein polyester and spandex dress, $99; belk.com.

Gisel

Gap cotton espadrilles, $35; gap.com.

Gisel Florez

Figue cotton caftan, $395; figue.com.

Gisel Florez

Olive And Oak maxi skirt, $58; 912-349-4129.

Gisel Florez

Chipped nail? Loose button? Ink stain? Voilà, shrunken fix-it implements for all your blunders. Pinch Provisions Minimergency kit, $15; pinchprovisions.com.

Gisel Florez

Rachel Zoe silk pants, $250; neimanmarcus.com.

Gisel Florez

Calypso St. Barth wool and silk scarf, $250; calypsostbarth.com.

Gisel Florez

Parasol nylon and Lycra swim shirt with UPF 50+, $165; parasolsun.com.

Gisel Florez

Ann Taylor maxi skirt, $118; anntaylor.com.

Gisel Florez

Yoon cotton cardigan, $145; yoonnyc.com.
 

Gisel Florez

Rebecca Minkoff nylon tote bag with leather trim, $225; bloomingdales.com.

Gisel Florez

Stephanie Johnson plastic side-handle cosmetic tubes, $40 each; stephaniejohnson.com.

Gisel Florez

Doncaster jacket with drawstring, $475; doncaster.com.

Gisel Florez

Yes, you could fill this container with water—or exactly one bottle of wine. Tote + Able beverage tote with water bottle inside, $22; flight001.com.

Gisel Florez

Loft linen blend pants, $70; loft.com.

Gisel Florez

Hideo nylon roller bag, $189; flight001.com.

Gisel Florez

French Connection flat-front trousers, $118; Bloomingdale’s.

Gisel Florez

Stubbs And Wootton For Black Fleece espadrilles with embroidered tassels, $225; brooksbrothers.com.

Gisel Florez

Tucker By Gaby Basora woven shirt jacket, $368; 214-987-0837.

Gisel Florez

Lemlem cotton and acrylic scarf in pink, $170; lemlem.com.

Gisel Florez

Henri Bendel nylon cross-body bag with leather trim, $198; henribendel.com

Gisel Florez

Olive And Oak color-block dress, $68; 864-365-5501.

Gisel Florez

This portable speaker is compatible with mobile devices, smartphones and computers. C. Wonder portable speaker, $24; cwonder.com.

Gisel Florez

Stella McCartney For Adidas mesh yoga bag, $110; net-a-porter.com. Gaiam Pvc yoga mat, $22; amazon.com.

Gisel Florez

Marvin K. suede and raffia wedges, $398; aquatalia.com.

Gisel Florez

Massimo Dutti cotton T-shirt, $46; massimodutti.com.

Gisel Florez

Lenny Swimwear maillot in Atoll, $359; lennyswimwear.com

Gisel Florez

The North Face nylon woven-ripstop feather-light jacket, $200; thenorthface.com. Athleta Meryl Skinlife racerback tank, $49; athleta.com.

Gisel Florez

Is Everest calling? This incredibly lightweight roller fits in the overhead and withstands extreme fluctuations in temperature. Rimowa aluminum multiwheel, $980; rimowa.com.

Gisel Florez

Schlep smarts: The top half is for your hat, sunblock and extra layer; the lower half keeps snacks from spoiling. Kate Spade Saturday canvas cooler tote, $90; saturday.com.

Gisel Florez

Comptoir Des Cotonniers cotton dress, $140; 212-460-5289. The FFS vulcanite sterling silver chain, $150; theffs.com. Suzanna Dai beaded cotton and Lurex-thread necklace, $250; calypsostbarth.com

Gisel Florez

Echo polyester chiffon caftan, $48; echodesign.com.

Gisel Florez

Tumi leather cross-body for iPad mini, $175; tumi.com.

Gisel

L.L.Bean linen plaid dress, $60; llbean.com.

Gisel Florez

Clarks synthetic leather sandals, $70; clarksusa.com.

Gisel Florez

This pack’s interior battery panel makes recharging on the run a no-brainer. The North Face nylon backpack with USB charging station, $229; thenorthface.com.

Gisel Florez

Minnie Rose cashmere V-neck (great on planes), $275; minnierose.com.

Gisel Florez

Gap cotton shorts, $40, and rope belt, $25; gap.com.

Gisel Florez

Kevia horn necklace, $338; kevia.biz.

Gisel Florez

Lemlem cotton pants, $225; lemlem.com.

Gisel Florez

No need to leave a trail of breadcrumbs: The watch’s built-in GPS keeps you on track. Garmin GPS navigator watch, $400; garmin.com.

Gisel Florez

Tiffany wicker picnic basket with Tiffany Blue leather trim, $3,700; 212-755-8000.

Gisel Florez

Massimo Dutti linen shorts, $99; massimodutti.com.

Gisel Florez

This waterproof case for your smartphone lets you operate the device through the clear front cover. Muji portable smartphone speaker, $70; muji.us.

Gisel Florez

Rabeanco leather backpack, $398; rabeanco.com.

Gisel Florez

Joe fresh cotton top, $19; joefresh.com.

Gisel Florez

Hat Attack raffia fedora, $80; hatattack.com.

Gisel Florez

Lemlem cotton smock shirt, $213; lemlem.com. Eileen Fisher metallic knit necklace, $98; eileenfisher.com.

Gisel Florez

Do shots or take vitamins (your choice) with this flask, which is attached to a collapsible cup. Uncommon Goods vinyl and stainless steel flask, $25; uncommongoods.com.

Gisel Florez

Two by Vince Camuto ombré denim jeans, $99; vincecamuto.com.

Gisel Florez

Bensimon bag, $110; bensimon.com

Gisel Florez

Kate Spade Saturday canvas sneakers, $65; saturday.com.

Gisel Florez

H&M cotton top, $30; hm.com for stores.

Gisel Florez

Sharper Image sand-free beach mat, $60; sharperimage.com.

Gisel Florez

Jon Josef canvas smoking slippers, $150; jonjosef.com.

Gisel Florez

Eileen Fisher silk-cotton jersey dress, $248; eileenfisher.com. Eileen Fisher silk-cotton interlock jacket, $318; eileenfisher.com.

Echo silk scarf, $85; echodesign.com.

Gisel Florez

Lauren Ralph Lauren sequined scarf, $58; bloomingdales.com.

Gisel Florez

This straw beach mat folds easily and features handy carrying straps. Stephanie Johnson bamboo straw with grosgrain-ribbon beach mat, $45; stephaniejohnson.com

Gisel Florez

Joe Fresh silk cotton henley, $39; joefresh.com. Theodora & Callum gold-electroplated pewter necklace on leather cord, $275; theodoraandcallum.com.

Gisel Florez

Foster Grant metal-rim sunglasses, $13; 866-518-2686.

Gisel Florez

Lost? No problem. These city maps are highly detailed (and look so good, the locals will think they’re a chic accessory). A La Carte Maps laminated maps, about $11.50 each; alacartemaps.com

Gisel Florez

Longchamp velvet clutch, $295; longchamp.com.

Tory Burch nylon and Lycra one-piece, $225; toryburch.com.

Gisel Florez

Tumi floral-print packing case, $595; tumi.com

Calvin Klein wedge sandals, $109; Bloomingdale’s.

Gisel Florez

Tommy Hilfiger chambray reversible blazer, $168; tommy.com. Lauren Ralph Lauren silk scarf, $32; ralphlauren.com.

Gisel Florez

Iiibeca By Joy Gryson Vestry-Mini leather bag, $58; iiibeca.com

Next: Travel Fashion: Exotic

Want more of MORE? Sign up for our weekly newsletter here!

Gisel Florez

 

 

For MORE great tips on wearing color click here.

 

Want the latest beauty, fashion and lifestyle tips? Click here to sign up for our fabulous weekly newsletter!

First published in the July/August 2013 issue

What’s your reaction?

Comments

Post new comment

Click to add a comment
Health
Relationships
Events
Member Voices
Clothes
Shoes & Accessories
Trends
Woman of Style and Substance
Swim & Lingerie
Forums