Fall Report: Cool & Trendy

Get style-set for fall 2010 with shapes made for a woman’s body.
Images loading...

Feminine Details

Temper the froufrou by pairing ultra-feminine pieces with something more tailored. This top? Wear it with pinstripe trousers. Katharine Kidd silk organza top, $495; katharinekidd.com for stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Something Sleek

The fabrics can be soft, but this fall the clothes need a little structure. These separates are tailored (even the stiff bag), but the textured hose keep them from looking too serious. J. Mendel silk wool jacket, $2,395, and silk wool skirt, $1,450; special order, 800-536-3235. Nancy Gonzalez mink and crocodile satchel, $3,750; select Neiman Marcus stores, neimanmarcus.com for stores. Manolo Blahnik leather shoes, $895; Neiman Marcus, 800-937-9146. Banana Republic wool hat, $50; bananarepublic.com for stores. Mawi onyx gemstone and hematite necklace, $924; bergdorfgoodman.com for stores. DKNY tights, $25; bloomingdales.com for stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Winter Florals

When blooms are done in deep, autumnal colors, they look fresh and warm. Layer them over other textures for maximum effect. Ralph Lauren collection lace sweater, $1,698, silk blouse, $1,998, wool pants, $998, and lace hat, $498; ralphlauren.com. Sergio Rossi leather booties, $1,350; 305-864-3643. Janis Provisor 22k gold necklace with pearls, quartz and citrine, $4,800; janisprovisorjewelry.com for stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Statement Coat

It’s your buffer against the outside world, so make it speak boldly-via color, fabric, silhouette or all of the above. Donna Karan shearling coat, price on request; donnakaran.com for stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Rocker Chic

Wear studded accessories, layers of mixed metal chains or just a touch of leather (shorts? Why not?) and get your groove on. Blaring music is optional. Theory Jersey sequined jacket, $815; barneys.com for stores. Shelley Steffe liquid twill top, $346; 917-408-0408. Tory Burch leather shorts, $450; toryburch.com. Christian Svoboda metal necklace, price on request; travestybijoux.com. Rodrigo Otazu Swarovski crystal and silver-plated metal cuff, $255; otazujewelry.com. Walter Steiger leather studded boots, $1,300; waltersteiger.com. DKNY tights, $25; bloomingdales.com for stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Blue Hue

It’s cobalt’s moment, and the color is universally flattering. When going this bold, keep the silhouette (and the accessories) simple. Calvin klein Collection silk crepe dress, $1,895; 212-292-9000. House of Lavande silver vintage earrings, $268; 561-802-3737.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Retro Inspired

Yes, Don Draper will see you now. Or so we imagine. Want to look modern this fall? Go for ’60s shapes (nipped waist, full skirt) and 2010 sensibility. Prada double cashgora dress, $3,565; Bergdorf Goodman, 800-558-1855. Prada gabardine and nylon blend underskirt, $895, and wool socks, $185; prada.com for select stores. Prada patent leather shoes, $650; barneys.com for select stores.
Photo: Matthew Kristall

Share Your Thoughts!

Comments

Post new comment

Click to add a comment
Health
Relationships
Events
Member Voices
Clothes
Shoes & Accessories
Trends
Woman of Style and Substance
Swim & Lingerie
Forums