Error saving user account.

Three Women Switch It Up in Style

You've got a signature style, but now it's boxing you in. Here, fast ways to break out

Images loading...

Your signature look with a twist

Jani Moon, 37, is a New York City–based media trainer with a penchant for clothes she categorizes as bohemian eccentric. Problem is, the look undermines her professional credibility. To help her add polish without surrendering her artsy sensibility, we suggested this print, which is fun and graphic but has a ladylike silhouette. “I actually feel like me,” she says, “only sexier and smarter. Wearing heels is an adjustment, but boy, do they make me feel powerful.”

 

Clover Canyon neoprene dress, $260; clovercanyon.com. Coach leather and wood heels, $248; coach.com. C. Wonder 14k gold–platedmetal and epoxy stone necklace, $88; cwonder.com. Dooney & Bourke tassel bag, $395; dooney.com.

Ari Michelson

Bronze, the new gold

Coach metallic leather bag, $228; coach.com.  

Gisel Florez

The classic sling-back, updated

CH Carolina Herrera leather slingback pumps, $540; 212-744-2076.

Gisel Florez

A knit, feminized (by pastels and belt)

Nic + Zoelinen and viscose cardigan with belt, $158; nordstrom.com.  

Use color

Merele Williams, 50, is a Brooklyn-based real estate broker who adopted an all-black uniform in her former life as a corporate lawyer. “It was simpler,” she admits. We showed Williams how a few touches of color can invigorate in an instant. “Wow!” exclaimed Williams upon seeing her new self. A mostly black pencil skirt was instantly pleasing to her eye, but the coral top took some getting used to. “I just feel strange wearing something that’s so bright,” she says. “I’m accustomed to blending into the background, and this is so not that." The shoes? “Amazing.”

 

Color, decoded

Zero + Maria Cornejo silk top, $495; saks.com. Zero + Maria Cornejo jacquard skirt, $550; 512-472-5951. Zero + Maria Cornejo nappa heels, $825; 212-925-3849. Kara By Kara Rossresin and metal bracelet, $125; Neiman Marcus stores. Diane Von Furstenbergleather clutch, $195; 646-486-4800. 

Ari Michelson

Yellow (use as a neutral, like khaki)

Banana Republic polyester blend dress, $130; bananarepublic.com. Kate Spade resin and gold-plated metal necklace, $148; katespade.com.

Gisel Florez

Metallics (work as a noncolor accent)

Via Spiga metallic leather wedge sandals, $225; Bloomingdale’s stores. 

Gisel Florez

The superbright bag (wearable color)

Vince Camuto leather cross-body bag, $198; vincecamuto.com.

Be daring

Patricia Brett, 49, wore gray, navy or khaki suits to work. Now a fashion designer in New York City (see her chic postsurgical swimwear for breast-cancer survivors at veronicabrett.com), she wants to amp up her style. “I have to dress less stodgy,”she declares. “I want to learn how to mix it up in unexpected ways while still looking professional.” Done and done. Classic colors (red, khaki, navy) are thoroughly modern when the proportion is played with (cropped pants, boxy top). “I love it!” Brett gushes about her new ensemble. The cherry on the bottom: mixed-print, nonstiletto shoes that are fashion forward and fun.

 

Tory Burch cotton and linen top, $595; tory​burch.com. Sportmax pants, $495; 212-674-1817. Rada for Club Monaco collar necklace, $249; clubmonaco​.com. Tory Burch woven pumps, $325; toryburch.com. Tory Burch burlap linen with wooden-link chain bag, $695; toryburch.com.  

Ari Michelson

Circle skirt (the new shape)

Ch Carolina Herrera silk and cotton skirt, $415; 212-744-2076.  

Gisel Florez

A paisley shirt-dress (on trend)

Massimo Dutti silk shirtdress, $145; massimodutti.com.  

Gisel Florez

The smoking loafer (this season's flat)

via spiga suede and patent pumps, $198; bloomingdales.com

 

Click here for MORE fashion tips

 

Want the latest beauty, fashion and lifestyle tips? Click here to sign up for our fabulous weekly newsletter!

Gisel Florez

What’s your reaction?

Comments

Post new comment

Click to add a comment
Health
Relationships
Events
Member Voices
Clothes
Shoes & Accessories
Trends
Woman of Style and Substance
Swim & Lingerie
Forums