How to Color Block: Everything Under $250

This slightly mod sensibility works best when applied to classic styling (wide-leg trousers, a pencil skirt). It’s all about swaths of solids (prints need not apply)—and a dose of confidence never hurts.

Images loading...

DRESS, Lesley Evers, $225; lesleyevers.com. BAG, Brahmin, $195; brahmin.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SOCKS, K. Bell, $7; kbellsocks.com. SHOES, Kenneth Cole New York, $169; kennethcole.com. PANTS, Team Colors by SkinnyJeans, $159; skinnyjeans.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

TOP, Ann Taylor, $68; anntaylor.com. BAG, Deux Lux, $86; deuxlux.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SHOES, Marc Fisher, $89; macys.com. PANTS, Lauren by Ralph Lauren, $189; select Macy’s stores, 800-289-6229.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

DRESS, Boden, $148; bodenusa.com. BAG, Dooney & Bourke, $178; dooney.com. TIGHTS, Falke, $48; Zitomer Pharmacy, 212-737-5560. SHOES, L.L.Bean Signature, $199; llbeansignature.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

BAG, Nine West, $79; 800-999-1877 for stores.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

TOP, Monrow, $168; hillaryrush.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

DRESS, Lesley Evers, $249; lesleyevers.com. SHOES, AMI Clubwear, $25; amiclubwear.com. TIGHTS, We Love Colors, $13; welovecolors.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

BANGLES, Sequin, from top, $38, $98, $48; 401-619-5713.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SKIRT, Urban Behavior, $32; urbanbehavior.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SHOES, Nine West, $99; 800-999-1877 for stores.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

PANTS, Elie Tahari, $248; elietahari.com for stores.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

DRESS, Charlotte Tarantola, $124; Studio K, 616-363-7900.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SHOES, Enzo Angiolini, $110; zappos.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

DRESS, Ann Taylor, $148; anntaylor.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

DRESS, Muse, $134; Lord & Taylor, 800-223-7440.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

BANGLES, Rosena Sammi, $50 for a set of six; rosenasammi.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

Jason Frank Rothenberg

SWEATER, J.Jill, $79; jjill.com.

Jason Frank Rothenberg

TOP, BCBGMAXAZRIA, $248; bcbg.com.

 

 

For pulling off different fall trends, check out our tips on wearing polka dots!

 

Want MORE great fashion articles like this? Click here to sign up for our weekly newsletter!

Jason Frank Rothenberg
First Published September 6, 2011

What’s your reaction?

Comments

Post new comment

Click to add a comment
Health
Relationships
Events
Member Voices
Clothes
Shoes & Accessories
Trends
Woman of Style and Substance
Swim & Lingerie
Forums