Nobel Peace Prize Goes to Three Women Activists

It’s the first time the prize has been awarded to a woman since 2004.

By Lesley Kennedy • Reporter

Can we get three cheers for the three-way split of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize?

The Norwegian Nobel Committee announced today in a press release that the prize would be divided among Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the first elected female president in Africa; Leymah Gbowee, a peace and women’s rights activist who organized women to help bring an end to the war in Liberia and earn the right to vote; and Tawakkul Karman, who has led the women’s rights struggle in Yemen.

According to the New York Times, the women are the first females to win the prize since 2004.

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society,” the committee states in the release. “It is the Norwegian Nobel Committee’s hope that the prize to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman will help to bring an end to the suppression of women that still occurs in many countries, and to realize the great potential for democracy and peace that women can represent.”

Amen and world peace to that.

Click here to read the full release.

Click here to read another fascinating news story from today’s headlines.

Don’t miss out on MORE great articles like this one. Click here to sign up for our weekly newsletter!

First Published October 7, 2011

Share Your Thoughts!


Post new comment

Click to add a comment