Our Zodiac Signs Have Changed, And We’re Kind Of Flipping Out

by Hannah Marsh

Our Zodiac Signs Have Changed, And We’re Kind Of Flipping Out

It turns out we’ve all been wrong about our Zodiac signs, and it’s slightly (extremely) upsetting.


If you’re a diehard astrology-follower, you might want to sit down for this news.


NASA has informed us all that the dates we have been following to determine our zodiac signs are most likely very, very incorrect. It turns out that the original zodiac always had 13 constellations (which just goes to show how in-tune we are with the actual astrology behind our horoscopes). However, when they were corresponding the signs to the months, the Babylonians already had a 12-month calendar created, so they just sent one of the signs, Ophiuchus, packing.


Before you get too bent out of shape and start trolling NASA’s social media accounts, just know that this is not their fault — it’s the facts. It’s also not the first time the dates have been changed, either. However, you still might want to take a deep breath before you see where your “new” sign falls.


  • Capricorn: January 20 to February 16
  • Aquarius: February 16 to March 11
  • Pisces: March 11 to April 18
  • Aries: April 18 to May 13
  • Taurus: May 13 to June 21
  • Gemini: June 21 to July 20
  • Cancer: July 20 to August 10
  • Leo: August 10 to September 16
  • Virgo: September 16 to October 30
  • Libra: October 30 to November 23
  • Scorpio: November 23 to November 29
  • Ophiuchus: November 29 to December 17
  • Sagittarius: December 17 to January 20


NASA reached out to media late Monday to clarify everyone’s concerns about changing horoscope signs. In an email to Gizmodo, NASA spokesperson Dwayne Brown wrote: “NASA studies astronomy, not astrology.”


They say the confusion stemmed from an old NASA children’s education website that (poorly) explains each branch of planetary study. So basically, there’s a huge difference between studying planets (astronomy) and those funny symbols that somehow predict your future (astrology).


Now, move along. Nothing else to see here.